KENT COUNTY COUNCIL

GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS PANEL

MINUTES of a meeting of the Governor Appointments Panel held in the Wantsum Room, Sessions House, County Hall, Maidstone on Friday, 27 April 2012.

PRESENT: Mr D L Brazier (Chairman), Ms S J Carey, Mr R J Parry, Mr R Tolputt and Mr D S Daley

OFFICERS: Ms T Gimber (School Governance Officer), Mr N Morgan (School Governance Officer) and Mr A Tait (Democratic Services Officer)

UNRESTRICTED ITEMS

3. Minutes

(Item A3)

RESOLVED that the Minutes of the meeting held on 10 February 2012 are correctly recorded and that they be signed by the Chairman.

4. LEA Governors for Primary, Secondary and Special Schools in Kent (Item B1)

- (1) The Panel agreed by 3 votes to 1 to appoint Mr C Elwood to the Governing Body of Rusthall St Paul's CE VA Primary School. This was because although his mother was the School Secretary, she was not the Clerk to the Governors. The School Governance Officer agreed to ensure that Mr Elwood was aware of the potential need to declare an interest whenever staffing matters were discussed.
- (2) The Panel agreed to re-appoint Dr A Norley to the Pool of Additional Governors and to backdate the appointment to 15 February 2012.
- (3) The School Governance Officer tabled the nomination form for Mrs J Brooke. The Panel agreed to appoint her to the Pool of Additional Governors.
- (4) RESOLVED that the appointments of Authority Governors in Primary, Secondary, Special Schools, Pupil Referral Units, the Pool of Additional Governors and the nominations to non-Authority Academies be agreed as set out in the Appendix to these Minutes.

5. New School Governor Constitution Regulations (*Item B2*)

- (1) A report by the Interim Manager of Governor Services had been circulated to all Members of the Panel prior to the meeting.
- (2) The School Governance Officer informed the Panel that new regulations had been released in the light of the Education Act 2012 and would come into force in September 2012. These gave Governing Bodies new freedoms to decide their constitution and membership.

- (3) Those Governing Bodies that decided to reconstitute would be governed by the 2012 regulations, which would enable them to consider the skill set of any person nominated by the Authority.
- (4) The School Governance Officer then set out a proposed process for appointments to be made to those schools governed by the new regulations.
- (5) The Governor Support Officer agreed to furnish the Panel with further information relating to the proposed appointment process. This information would include the approaches of other Local Authorities in light of the new regulations; suggestions for revised Guidelines for Appointment to Local Authority posts and a document suggesting proposed expectations for Authority Governors in exercising their function. This would be provided to the next meeting of the Panel.

(6) RESOLVED that:-

- (a) the process to be used as a basis for the appointment of Authority Governors to schools governed by the new regulations of the Education Act 2012 be noted as follows:-
 - (i) The Governing Body performs a skills audit and provides the details of this together with a completed skills audit form to Governor Services;
 - (ii) Governor Services publishes the Governor Appointments Panel report online once per month, together with school contact details and the details of the skill set required by the governing body;
 - (iii) Applicants are invited to apply to the school directly;
 - (iv) The Governing Body considers the applications (usually by interviewing the applicants);
 - (v) Once one or more suitable candidates have been identified by the Governing Body, the applicant's details are sent to Governor Services for cross-reference against the County Council's *Guidelines for the Appointment of Authority Governors*; and
 - (vi) Where a candidate approved by the Governing Body meets the criteria of the *Guidelines for the Appointment of Authority Governors* (and is the only candidate so identified) a letter is sent to the school advising it to appoint the candidate at the next available Governing Body meeting.
 - (vii) Candidates who do not meet the criteria of the *Guidelines for the Appointment of Authority Governors* are considered by the Members of the Governor Appointments Panel. This also occurs on those occasions where there is more than one Candidate:
 - (viii) Governor Services writes to the school based on the Governor Appointments Panel's decision on whether (and who) to nominate; and

(b)	a further report on the proposed process be presented to the next meeting of the Panel, as set out in (5) above.



APPENDIX (Paragraph 4 of the Minutes refers)

1. ASHFORD

SchoolAppointeeBeaver Green Community Primary SchoolMrs S SpiersEast Stour Primary SchoolMr G SaltmarshVictoria Road Primary SchoolMr G Adby

2. CANTERBURY

SchoolAppointeeHerne CE Junior SchoolMr J HowesReculver CE Primary SchoolMrs E SawtellSt Anselm's Catholic SchoolMrs A Rooke

3. DARTFORD

SchoolAppointeeFleetwood Primary SchoolMr J CannonSutton at Hone CE Primary SchoolMr D Hubbard

4. DOVER

SchoolAppointeeAsh, Cartwright and Kelsey CE Primary SchoolMrs J WinstanleyGreen Park Community Primary SchoolMrs S SoetersSandown SchoolMrs S ButcherWorth Primary SchoolMr T Fisher

5. GRAVESHAM

SchoolAppointeeKings Farm Primary SchoolMrs R Eberetonbofa-MorahNorthfleet Technology CollegeMrs P HughesRiverview Junior SchoolMrs S ComptonWestcourt SchoolMr S CarterWhitehill Primary SchoolMr G Wybar

6. MAIDSTONE

SchoolAppointeeBower Grove SchoolMrs J CousinsStaplehurst SchoolMr S HoultStaplehurst SchoolMr C Roome

7. SEVENOAKS

SchoolAppointeeChurchill CE Primary SchoolMrs J IngramChurchill CE Primary SchoolMrs L Rodgers

Fordcombe CE Primary School Furness School Halstead Community Primary School High Firs Primary School Mrs P Hamilton-Brown Mr M Beeby Mrs C Harrison Mrs A Marshall

8. SHEPWAY

School

Selsted CE Primary School

Appointee

Mrs J Ibertson-Revell

9. SWALE

School

The Sheerness West Federation Bysing Wood Primary School Eastling Primary School Eastling Primary School **Appointee**

Mr J Duncan Mr P Oxberry Mr P Cheesman Mrs S Perks

10. THANET

School

Bromstone Primary School
St Anthony's School
The Ellington and Hereson School

Appointee

Mrs C Moulton
Mr G Lloyd-James
Mrs C Moulton

11. TONBRIDGE AND MALLING

School

Offham Primary School Shipbourne School

Appointee

Mr M Worrall Mr P Neal

12. TUNBRIDGE WELLS

School

Capel Primary School
Oakley School
Paddock Wood Primary School
Rusthall St Paul's CE (VA) Primary School
St Barnabas CE (VA) Primary School

Appointee

Mrs W Hale Mrs C Holland Mrs S Bullock Mr C Elwood Mrs E MacIldowie

- 13. PUPIL REFERRAL UNITS
- 14. PROPOSED FEDERATIONS
- 15. POOL OF ADDITIONAL GOVERNORS

Dr A Norley Mrs J Brooke

16. NOMINATIONS TO ACADEMIES